This award is presented annually to a Gatineau coach in any sport, who has particularly distinguished themselves in their practices and has showcased our region at the provincial, national or international level. The recipient of this award will receive a trophy and a $500.00 scholarship.


Each year, the Foundation will issue five $250.00 scholarships to deserving coaches to fund training and equipment to help in their practices and improve the performance of their athletes.

  • Facebook Social Icon


On June 10th, at the 25th Gala Loisir Sport Outaouais held at the Maison du Citoyen, the chairman of the Pat Burns Foundation, Mr. Jason Burns, was pleased to present the first scholarships and the Pat Burns Foundation Prize to Gatineau coaches who gave themselves body and soul to developing their sports team. Several of them have a full-time job in addition to volunteering 10-40 hours a week of dedication to their sport. By this recognition, the Foundation wish to say thank you to those who pass on their passion to our young people, by giving them a taste of their sport and getting them to excel. 


For this first edition, Mr. Jean-François Lavergne, coach of L'Intrépide de l'Outaouais Bantam AAA, was awarded the Pat Burns Foundation Prize as well as a $500.00 scholarship. Mr. Lavergne has trained for over 10 years. He invested a lot of time and energy into developing and maintaining a strong team spirit. He ensures that players are well supported by promoting values such as discipline, work ethic and the ability to surpass oneself. Among the outstanding performances of last year, one cannot ignore the passage of Mr. Lavergne's team to the provincial championships in April 2015, where they won the Dodge Cup, the most prestigious title in Quebec minor hockey. 


Five $250.00 scholarships were also awarded to coaches to finance training and equipment within their respective teams. The Foundation wanted to reward the efforts and boundless dedication of these coaches who, day after day, work to improve the performance of their team:


  • Mr. Dave Fallon, en gymnastics

  • Mrs. Sarah Mayer, diving

  • Mr. Yann Prigent, en gymnastics

  • Mr. Olivier Renaud, swimming

  • Mr. Olivier Tyteca, fencing

The Pat Burns Foundation Prize and scholarships were awarded to coaches in addition to prizes already awarded by Loisir Sport Outaouais in the categories National Coach of the Year and Provincial Coach of the Year. The selection of scholarship recipients of the Pat Burns Foundation was made up of all the applications received in the two prize categories. The recipients were chosen by the selection committee in place and to which a board member of directors of the Foundation served.