This award is presented annually to a Gatineau coach in any sport, who has particularly distinguished themselves in their practices and has showcased our region at the provincial, national or international level. The recipient of this award will receive a trophy and a $1,000 scholarship.


Each year, the Foundation will issue five $500.00 scholarships to deserving coaches to fund training and equipment to help in their practices and improve the performance of their athletes.


At the Gala Excellence Outaouais, held June 20th, the Pat-Burns Foundation was pleased to present its annual awards, as well as the Pat-Burns Foundation award to Gatineau coaches who, year long, devote themselves to the development of their sport. 

This year the Pat-Burns Foundation Coach-of-the-Year award went to Mr. Glenn Hoag of Volleyball Canada (represented here by his son Nicholas Hoag).  A $500 award will go towards the purchase of team equipment as well as training sessions. Mr. Hoag also received a symbolic trophy as well as a $1,000 award.

A volleyball coach for over 21 years, Glenn Hoag is the guru in his discipline. Dedicated to his sport, he is always available to share his expertise with colleagues and to collaborate for the good development of athletes. Under his supervision and leadership, the men's interior volleyball team was brought to the Rio Olympics, a first in 24 years.  The team that competed with world class adversaries managed to win 5th place.

Four awards of $500 were also presented to finalist coaches, towards the purchase of training and equipment for their team.  The Foundation wanted to reward the tremendous dedication of these coaches who, day in and day out, work at improving their team’s performance :

Mr. Benoît Branchaud, ice hockey, with Jason Burns, president of the Foundation.

Mrs. Geneviève Champagne, gymnastics, with Paul Choquette, treasurer at the Foundation.

Mr. Stéphane Petronzio, baseball, with Yan Hébert, Foundation Board member.

Mr. Mathieu Toupin, tennis, with Patricia Gougeon, communications advisor with the Foundation.

For the current edition, the Pat-Burns Foundation put together an independent selection committee who reviewed all of the applications received, based on the eligibility criteria that had been set forth.

Congratulations to our finalists and to the 2017 award winner!


To consult the selection criteria, click here.


To learn more about the Gala Excellence Outaouais, click here


2016 award presentation

  • Facebook Social Icon